Skip To Content

Routt County Homes in Routt County

Routt County was created out of the western portion of Grand County. It was named in honor of John Long Routt, the last territorial and first state governor of Colorado. The western portion of Routt County was split off to form Moffat County on February 27, 1911. But Routt County is home to the hot spring that every locale talks about, Steamboat Springs. It is full of skiing, swimming, and soaking. All which are very relaxing for anyone who visits. Back before it was any of these beautiful things, gold was found here as a part of the Colorado Gold Rush. With a relaxing environment, and rich history how could you not want to visit Routt County?