Skip To Content

Pitkin County Homes in Pitkin County

Pitkin County is located in the center of the White River National Forest, surrounded by the peaks of the central The Rocky Mountains. Pitkin County includes the communities of Aspen, Snowmass, Woody Creek, Old Snowmass, Meredith, Thomasville, Redstone and portions of the town of Basalt.  Best known for its four world-class ski resorts — Aspen Mountain, Aspen Highlands, Buttermilk and Snowmass, tourism is the mainstay of the local economy with arts, cultural and recreational events providing a year-round attraction.  Significant community sustainability concerns including the affordability of housing, healthcare, transportation, and an aging workforce.